As early as 1800’s, Caniogan was one of the visitas (chapels) set up by the Spanish conquistadores. Caniogan may have been derived from the profusion of coconut palms (niyog) and later was called “Niyogan” meaning “a place where coconut grows”. Simultaneously with the casting of the first stone of the chapel in 1881, FraySimon Barroso y Villar, OSA (pastor then of Immaculate Conception Church of Pasig) also prevailed from Modesta Juanco y Tech (from the very local wealthy clan, Juanco Family) to have an image of Sta. Clara Pasig. The vastness of Immaculate Conception Parish continued to dismember its visitas that can stand as a parish for the greater spiritual growth of its faithful.
In 1993, the dismembership of Barangays Caniogan and Sagad from the Immaculate Conception Parishwas carefully studied and submitted to the Manila’s Archdiocesan Office for Research and Development(AORD) as recommended by Msgr. Emmanuel V. Sunga, pastor then of Immaculate Conception Parish. On January 10, 1994, after a careful evaluation made by the AORD, Barangays Caniogan and Sagad were officially designated and erected as a new parish bearing the illustrious name of Sta. Clara de Montefalco with Msgr. Salvador F. Mora as the first parish priest.
On December 01, 1994, Rev. Fr. Renier N. Llorca was appointed as the second parish priest. Together with thefinance and technical committees, he conceptualized and initiated the construction of the new Sta. Clara de Montefalco Church edifice in its new site at Barangay Caniogan along C. Raymundo Avenue.
The transformation began in 1995 – from a chapel to a shrine – when the proposal of the building of the new church edifice was approved by the Archbishop of Manila, the late Jaime Cardinal L. Cardinal Sin.
Nearby Reception Venues
Santa Clara de Montefalco Parish Church
Address: C. Raymundo Avenue, Caniogan, Pasig City
Tel Nos. 642-3555- 746-7777
Incoming search terms:
- santa clara de montefalco parish